Entries are open for the New Zealand Tourism Awards, returning for 2021 to showcase and celebrate the tourism industry’s individual and business successes!

Three awards for individuals are open to outstanding performers in the industry, and eight awards will recognise business excellence, industry alignment and organisations that are living the values of the Tourism Sustainability Commitment.

Winners will be announced at the New Zealand Tourism Awards dinner on 1 September in Hamilton following Tourism Summit Aotearoa.

Why enter the New Zealand Tourism Awards?

  • INSPIRE: Be uniquely positioned to inspire industry peers along the journey towards a sustainable tourism industry.
  • INFLUENCE: Join a select group of award recipients, whose stories have directly shaped and influenced the New Zealand tourism story that is shared and enjoyed by Kiwis across the country.
  • ACCESS: Gain access to industry opportunities, raise your organisation’s profile and attract top talent and capital investment.
  • PROMOTION: Promote the great work you are doing. Generate media coverage, add a new dimension to your marketing efforts and boost team morale.

Categories and criteria

Awards are open in the following categories and will close at 5pm on Thursday 1 July. Full criteria can be found on our New Zealand Tourism Awards website. Once you’ve decided which Awards to enter, complete the entry form on the website and you’ll be sent a link to the relevant submission forms.

  • Resilience and Innovation Award (NEW!)
    The Resilience and Innovation Award recognises a business that exemplifies innovative and creative problem-solving alongside operational business excellence.
  • Community Engagement Award 
    The Community Engagement Award recognises a business that is a leader in engaging and supporting vibrant communities.
  • Employer of Choice Award
    The Employer of Choice Award recognises a business that has risen to workforce challenges, maintaining a positive and high performing workplace, with industry leading practices and innovations to retain and recruit staff.
    Sponsored by Tourism Talent
  • Conservation Award
    The Conservation Award recognises an environmentally sustainable tourism business that embraces kaitiakitanga (guardianship) and protection of our natural, built and cultural resources for the benefit of current and future generations.
    Sponsored by Department of Conservation
  • Environment Award
    The Environment Award recognises an environmentally sustainable tourism business that actively supports and champions environmental initiatives that reduce carbon emissions, minimise waste, and generally contribute to enhancing New Zealand’s environment.
    Sponsored by Toitū Envirocare
  • Industry Collaboration Award
    The Industry Collaboration Award recognises a Regional Tourism Organisation, Economic Development Agency, central or local government agency, research organisation, education provider, sector association, industry business, or group of two or more businesses that have aligned/partnered to successfully maximise their tourism industry impact and results. 
  • He Kai Kei Aku Ringa Māori Tourism Award
    The Māori Tourism Award recognises a commercial tourism business that is delivering an authentic Māori tourism visitor experience or product, incorporating the core values of manaakitanga, kaitiakitanga and whanaungatanga into its business and its visitor offering, and demonstrating rangatiratanga within the tourism industry.
    Sponsored by NZ Māori Tourism
  • Visitor Experience Award
    The Visitor Experience Award recognises a tourism business that is meeting and exceeding the expectations of visitors.
    Please note, the Supreme Tourism Award will not be presented in 2021.

The following categories are open to individuals: 

  • Tourism Champion Award 
    The Tourism Champion Award recognises an outstanding tourism professional who has been in the tourism industry for more than 10 years.
    Sponsored by Marsh
  • Emerging Tourism Leader Award 
    The Emerging Tourism Leader Award recognises an outstanding tourism professional who has been in the tourism industry for less than 10 years.
    Sponsored by PATA New Zealand Trust

The Sir Jack Newman Award for Outstanding Industry Leader will also be presented on the night.